The beginning of something beautiful

September 4, 2007 at 6:08 am Leave a comment

While I think it is important that people eat healthy, I also know that eating is something that most of us take a great deal of pleasure from and finding a perfect balance between health and pleasure is often a challenge that can leave us feeling bloated, guilty, hungry, or dissatisfied. In our pursuit to find pleasure in food it is important to remember that we are all human.

My goal here is to simply allow myself and others a place to discuss food, exercise, and health topics as well as share news and personal stories. While I am no expert on the subject, I do hold a bit of personal experience, as do we all, with my own struggles and triumphs. I am planning to study nutrition and hope to some day become a dietician.

My approach to food is multifaceted. I am not a fan of fast food, corporate food processing companies, and the governmental policy that regulates our food industry. I think these things have a lot to do with the growing obesity rate in America. No diet is going to fix this problem. Diets like Atkins, South Beach, Jenny Craig, and all the others will simply add to our problems by spreading false information. We need a bottom up approach.

Quote of the Day:

When Wal-Mart and McDonald’s start selling organic food, it will drive down the price to farmers and risk growing a new monoculture.

– Michael Pollan, author of The Omnivores Dilemma

Entry filed under: The Food Industry.

The Obesity “Paradox”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

September 2007
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 413 hits

